Human Rights Association: We Condemn Operation Against Civil Society and Academia

Comments Off on Human Rights Association: We Condemn Operation Against Civil Society and Academia

Click to read the article in Turkish / Kurdish

Human Rights Association (İHD) has released a statement and demanded that 13 detained academics and civil society representatives be released.

CLICK - Operation Against Civil Society and Academics

Here are some of the highlights from the İHD's statement:

"We would like to indicate that we are condemning the treatment of Prof. Dr. Turgut Tarhanlı, who has been struggling for the rule of law for a long period of time and raised several people of law, and other detained people, considering that they are defenders of rights.

"The treatment of Turgut Tarhanlı and the ones who have been taken into custody along with him has manifested that laws have been arbitrarily enforced in Turkey and the political power can treat anyone in the country as it sees fit by way of oppression via justice.

"We are making a call to the political power to give up such methods of oppression and demand that the detained people be immediately released."

What happened?

An operation was launched against two academics from Boğaziçi and İstanbul Bilgi Universities and people from civil society on November 16. It has been reported that a detention warrant has been issued for 20 people.

As part of the operation, the following 13 people have been taken into custody: Prof. Dr. Betül Tanbay from the Department of Mathematics at Boğaziçi University and an Academic for Peace signatory to the declaration "We will not be a party to this crime"; Prof. Dr. Turgut Tarhanlı, Dean of the Faculty of Law of İstanbul Bilgi University; Anadolu Kültür Executive Board Deputy Chair Yiğit Ekmekçi; executive board member Ali Hakan Altınay; General Coordinator of Anadolu Kültür Asena Günal; its former director general and Co-Director of Truth Justice Memory Center Meltem Aslan; Bora Sarı from Anadolu Kültür; Ayşegül Güzel, Filiz Telek, Yiğit Aksakoğlu, Yusuf Cıvır, Hande Özhabeş and producer Çiğdem Mater. (EMK/SD)


Related Posts