Four HDP Mayors Replaced with Trustees

The Ministry of Interior has dismissed four mayors in Kurdish-majority cities and appointed the district governors as trustees.

Mayors of Yenisehir and Hazro districts in Diyarbakir, Idil district in Sirnak and Akpazar town in Dersim have been replaced with trustees by the Ministry of Interior.

Twenty-two mayors from the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) in Kurdish-majority cities were previously dismissed or not mandated after the March 31 local elections, including the metropolitan mayors of Diyarbakir, Mardin and Van.

The mayors have been dismissed over "terrorism-related investigations against them."

There are two ongoing investigations launched by Diyarbakir Chief Public Prosecutor's Office against Yenisehir Co-Mayor Belgin Diken for "membership of a terrorist organization," Diyarbakir Governorship said in a statement. Yenisehir District Governor Murat Besikci has been appointed as a trustee, it added.

Diken received 63.32 percent of the votes in the local elections.

Hazro Mayor Ahmet Cevik is under investigation for "membership of a terrorist organization" and "propagandizing for a terrorist organization" the governor's office said. Cevik has been replaced with Hazro District Governor Ali Oner.

Cevik received 52.61 percent of the votes in the local elections.

Orhan Celebi, the mayor of Akpazar town in Dersim's Mazgirt district, has been dismissed from his post he was sentenced to 3 years and 4 months in prison for "propagandizing for a terrorist organization" and there is another investigation against him on the same charge. Mazgirt District Governor Menderes Topcuoglu has been appointed as trustee.

Celebi started a sit-in protest in the morning, saying, "The will of the people is usurped," in a tweet.

Source: English Bianet