Curfew Declared in Silvan

Click to read the article in Turkish 

Curfew has been declared in six villages in Silvan district of Diyarbakır province in southeastern Turkey.

According to the statement made by Silvan sub-Governorship, the curfew was declared in Eskiköy, Susuz, Gündüzköy, Otluk, Karahacı and Üçbasamak villages of Silvan.

The sub-Governorship stated that the curfew would be in effect as of 10 p.m. yesterday (November 28) until further notice.
Armed clashes had occurred yesterday evening in the region where Susuz (Etşa) and Çardak (Şifqet) villages are located. One village guard had lost his life and two others were arrested.

Following the incident, soldiers were deployed to the area and an operation has been launced.

Earlier, curfews had been declared in certain neighbourhoods and villages of Silvan on August 24, 2015, November 2, 2015, March 25, 2016 and July 14,2016. (YY/DG)

About Silvan

Silvan is one of 17 districts of Turkey’s southeastern Diyarbakır province. Its population is 86,000,663 with a surface area of 1,373 km2. It consists of 11 neighborhoods, namely Yüksek, Konak, Cami, Feridun, Kale, Mescit, Tekel, Selahattin, Bağlar, Bahçelievler and Yenişehir. It is 78 km away from Diyarbakır center.

Co-Mayors are Yüksel Bodakçi and Melikşah Teke from HDP.

November 1, 2015 general election results: HDP (% 87,9), AKP (% 10,5), CHP (% 0,5), MHP (% 0,3)

June 7, 2015 general election results: HDP (% 88,9), AKP (5,70), CHP (% 0,34), MHP (% 0,80)